Databases

Check out Freegal Music! Stream 3 hours of music a day and download 3 tracks each week.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Z

Databases - Encyclopedias

AccessScience

AccessScienceFull text of the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, Science News articles, educational videos and animations.

Black Women in America

Black Women in AmericaRecords the achievements of black women throughout American history and highlights their ongoing contributions today

Britannica Library

Britannica LibraryEncyclopædia entries, magazine articles, images, and downloadable videos, for Children, Young Adults, and Adults

Columbia Gazetteer of the World

Columbia Gazeteer of the WorldAn encyclopedia of geographical places and features.

Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre

The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century TheatreA comprehensive international guide to all aspects of 20th century theater.

Encyclopedia of Africa

Encyclopedia of AfricaAuthoritative, thorough, and up-to-date encyclopedia entries about Africa.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895Covers African American history from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 - presentCovers African American history from the age of segregation to the Twenty-First Century.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionCovers clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldCovers Islam's role in the modern world 

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and EthicsCovers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology 

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Funk and Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaOver 25,000 entries, images, and brief biographies

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryeBooks about the arts, business plans, history, literature, religion, social sciences, and travel.

Global Reference Center

Global Reference CenterEncyclopedias in Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Japanese, and French

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art

The Grove Encyclopedia of American ArtA comprehensive reference source about American art and architecture.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureThe most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.

Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry

Oxford Companion to Modern PoetryA guide to the lives of influential poets writing in English, in Britain and around the world

Oxford Companion to the Book

Oxford Companion to the BookEssays and encyclopedia entries covering all aspects of books and printing

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, & Economic HistoryHistory of business, labor, and economics from the origins of the United States to the present time

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social HistoryOver 450 entries covering the history of ordinary Americans.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeA comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesComprehensive, reliable, and accessible information on the topics of identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican CulturesComprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible

Oxford Encyclopedia of the books of the BibleAuthoritative reference overviews of scholarship in the field of biblical studies.

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace

Oxford International Encyclopedia of PeaceA comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference LogoLanguage dictionaries and subject reference eBooks

Spanish Reference Center

Britannica Enciclopedia ModernaSearch two Spanish-language encyclopedias: one for ages 6-12, one for high school to adult