Check out Freegal Music! Stream 3 hours of music a day and download 3 tracks each week.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | V | W | Z

Databases - History and Government

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search CompleteThousands of scholarly, full-text journals covering nearly all academic areas of study.

American Decades Primary Sources

American Decades Primary SourcesPrimary sources from the 20th century

American Indian Histories and Cultures

American Indian Histories and CulturesArchival collection on American Indian history

American Song

American SongAn eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life. Includes over 120,000 songs that you can stream and add to playlists.

American West

The American WestExplore tales of frontier life, pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws

Arts and Humanities through the Eras

Arts and Humanities through the ErasCovers Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece and Rome, Medieval Europe, Renaissance Europe, and the Age of the Baroque and the Enlightenment

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)

Citations to articles covering Native North American culture, history, and life

Columbia Gazetteer of the World

Columbia Gazeteer of the WorldAn encyclopedia of geographical places and features.

Dictionary of American History

For students, scholars, and general readers interested in American history

Digital Commons Network

Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide

Discovery Texas / Library of Texas

Search the TexShare databases and multiple Texas library catalogs simultaneously.

DocsTeach

Thousands of primary source documents bring the past to life

DPLA - Digital Public Library of America

A collection of online exhibitions and primary sources from libraries, archives, and museums throughout the United States.

Encyclopedia of Africa

Encyclopedia of AfricaAuthoritative, thorough, and up-to-date encyclopedia entries about Africa.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895Covers African American history from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 - presentCovers African American history from the age of segregation to the Twenty-First Century.

Facts on File: World News Digest

World News DigestSeven decades of news and up-to-date articles

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryeBooks about the arts, business plans, history, literature, religion, social sciences, and travel.

Global Road Warrior

Global Road WarriorSocial, cultural, business, and travel information for 175 countries

Handbook of African-American Texas

Over 850 entries on African Americans in Texas, from 1528 to the present.

Handbook of Texas Online

Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture

History Study Center

History Study CenterA collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

JSTOR

JSTOR logoAcademic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Military & Government Collection

Military & Government CollectionCurrent news pertaining to all branches of the military and government 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in ContextAuthoritative pro/con views from articles, essays, topic overviews, and primary sources.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle AgesCovers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, & Economic HistoryHistory of business, labor, and economics from the origins of the United States to the present time

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social HistoryOver 450 entries covering the history of ordinary Americans.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeA comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United StatesComprehensive, reliable, and accessible information on the topics of identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history

Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace

Oxford International Encyclopedia of PeaceA comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Index to general-interest periodicals published in the US from 1890 - 1982 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

World History Collection

A global look at history with full-text content from international journals