We Recommend

Let our expert librarians recommend your next great read. For a customized list of recommendations, check out Personal Picks.

Remote Control
Remote Control

The day Fatima forgot her name, Death paid a visit. From here on in she would be known as Sankofa--a name that meant…

Libertie
Libertie

Libertie Sampson, a freeborn Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, is pushed by her mother, a doctor, to follow in…

The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois
The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois

To come to terms with who she is and what she wants, Ailey, the daughter of an accomplished doctor and a strict…

Sometimes I Trip On How Happy We Could Be
Sometimes I Trip On How Happy We Could Be

Combining her sharp wit, stellar pop culture sensibility, and trademark spirited storytelling, Nichole boldly tackles the…

Letters to My White Male Friends
Letters to My White Male Friends

Dax-Devlon Ross speaks directly to the millions of middle-aged white men who are suddenly awakening to race and racism.…

We Need New Stories
We Need New Stories

A rigorous examination of six political myths used to deflect and discredit demands for social justice. 

Better, Not Bitter
Better, Not Bitter

This inspirational memoir serves as a call to action from prison reform activist Yusef Salaam, of the Exonerated Five,…

Notes on Grief
Notes on Grief

From the globally acclaimed, best-selling novelist and author of We Should All Be Feminists, a timely and deeply personal…

 Footnotes
Footnotes

For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring twenties and the…

Somebody's Daughter
Somebody's Daughter

A childhood defined by the ever looming absence of her incarcerated father.

How the Word Is Passed
How the Word Is Passed

The legacy of slavery that is preserved in monuments and landmarks that hold violent and racist symbolism.

Dear Senthuran
Dear Senthuran

Electrifying and radically honest, animated by the same voracious intelligence that distinguishes their fiction, Dear…

The Ugly Cry
The Ugly Cry

A sharp, hilarious memoir about a nontraditional upbringing and growing up Black in a predominantly white community.

What White People Can Do Next
What White People Can Do Next

In the spirit of We Should All Be Feminists and How to Be an Antiracist, a poignant and sensible guide to questioning the…

Yoke
Yoke

Remember Jessamyn Stanley? How could you not? She's the proudly fat, Black, queer yoga teacher and charismatic author of…

 Leaving Breezy Street
Leaving Breezy Street

The account of a woman who had to make the best out of tough situations and limited options--a testimony on how the cycle…

Traveling Black
Traveling Black

What was it like to travel while Black under Jim Crow? Mia Bay brings this dramatic history to life. With gripping…

We Are Bridges
We Are Bridges

Cassandra Lane's debut memoir follows her late entry into pregnancy and motherhood. As she prepares to give birth, she…

The Son of Mr. Suleman
The Son of Mr. Suleman

Professor Pi Suleman is a black man from Memphis and proud of it. Still, he has to endure a lot (such as microaggressions…

Seven Days in June
Seven Days in June

Brooklynite Eva Mercy is a single mom and bestselling erotica writer, who is feeling pressed from all sides. Shane Hall…

Walking on Cowrie Shells
Walking on Cowrie Shells

Pulling from mystery, horror, realism, myth, and graphic novels, Nkweti showcases the complexity and vibrance of…

We Recommend

More Recommendations

Your local librarians have profiles in our catalog (BiblioCommons) to share our interests, what we’re reading and to create even more recommendation lists.  Follow and like our profiles and learn more about getting social on our catalog.

Picks From Staff

Neighborhood Branch Spotlight