We Recommend

Let our expert librarians recommend your next great read. For a customized list of recommendations, check out Personal Picks.

Gordo
Gordo

Shedding profound natural light on the inner lives of migrant workers, Jaime Cortez's debut collection ushers in a new…

The Startup Wife
The Startup Wife

Newlyweds Asha and Cyrus build an app that replaces religious rituals and soon find themselves running one of the most…

A Song Everlasting
A Song Everlasting

An urgent, timely novel that follows a famous Chinese singer severed from his country as he works to find his way in the…

Impostor Syndrome
Impostor Syndrome

A sharp and prescient novel about women in the workplace, the power of Big Tech, and the looming threat of foreign…

 The Chosen and the Beautiful
The Chosen and the Beautiful

Reinvents the classic of the American canon, The Great Gatsby, as a coming-of-age story full of magic, mystery,…

We Two Alone
We Two Alone

Set on five continents and spanning decades, We Two Alone traces the arc and evolution of the Chinese immigrant…

Radiant Fugitives
Radiant Fugitives

In the last weeks of her pregnancy, a Muslim Indian lesbian living in San Francisco receives a visit from her estranged…

Letters to My White Male Friends
Letters to My White Male Friends

Dax-Devlon Ross speaks directly to the millions of middle-aged white men who are suddenly awakening to race and racism.…

We Need New Stories
We Need New Stories

A rigorous examination of six political myths used to deflect and discredit demands for social justice. 

Better, Not Bitter
Better, Not Bitter

This inspirational memoir serves as a call to action from prison reform activist Yusef Salaam, of the Exonerated Five,…

Notes on Grief
Notes on Grief

From the globally acclaimed, best-selling novelist and author of We Should All Be Feminists, a timely and deeply personal…

 Footnotes
Footnotes

For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring twenties and the…

Somebody's Daughter
Somebody's Daughter

A childhood defined by the ever looming absence of her incarcerated father.

How the Word Is Passed
How the Word Is Passed

The legacy of slavery that is preserved in monuments and landmarks that hold violent and racist symbolism.

Dear Senthuran
Dear Senthuran

Electrifying and radically honest, animated by the same voracious intelligence that distinguishes their fiction, Dear…

The Ugly Cry
The Ugly Cry

A sharp, hilarious memoir about a nontraditional upbringing and growing up Black in a predominantly white community.

What White People Can Do Next
What White People Can Do Next

In the spirit of We Should All Be Feminists and How to Be an Antiracist, a poignant and sensible guide to questioning the…

Yoke
Yoke

Remember Jessamyn Stanley? How could you not? She's the proudly fat, Black, queer yoga teacher and charismatic author of…

 Leaving Breezy Street
Leaving Breezy Street

The account of a woman who had to make the best out of tough situations and limited options--a testimony on how the cycle…

Traveling Black
Traveling Black

What was it like to travel while Black under Jim Crow? Mia Bay brings this dramatic history to life. With gripping…

We Are Bridges
We Are Bridges

Cassandra Lane's debut memoir follows her late entry into pregnancy and motherhood. As she prepares to give birth, she…

We Recommend

More Recommendations

Your local librarians have profiles in our catalog (BiblioCommons) to share our interests, what we’re reading and to create even more recommendation lists.  Follow and like our profiles and learn more about getting social on our catalog.

Picks From Staff

Neighborhood Branch Spotlight