Holiday Schedule

2014

The Austin Public Library will be closed in observance of the following holidays:

New Year's: Tuesday, December 31 (close at 6 p.m.); Wednesday January 1*, 2014

Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday: Monday, January 20*

Presidents' Day: Monday, February 17*

Easter: Sunday, April 20

Memorial Day: Saturday**, Sunday**, and Monday, May 24, 25, and 26*

Independence Day: Friday, July 4*

Labor Day: Saturday**, Sunday**, August 30, 31 and Monday September 1*

Veterans Day: Tuesday, November 11*

Thanksgiving: Wednesday, November 26 (close at 6 p.m.);
Thursday and Friday, November 27 * and 28*

Christmas: Wednesday and Thursday, December 24* and 25*

New Year's: Wednesday, December 31 (close at 6 p.m.); Thursday, January 1*, 2015


* Dates are official City of Austin holidays.

** Indicates that Recycled Reads is open.

APL Recommends

Cover of the book The here and now
By Ann Brashares.
Seventeen-year-old Prenna, an immigrant who moved to New York when she was twelve, came from another time and she and the other travelers must follow strict rules to avoid destroying the new life they have worked so hard to get, as well as the one person Prenna is desperate to protect.