We Recommend

Let our expert librarians recommend your next great read. For a customized list of recommendations, check out Personal Picks.

Madhouse at the end of the earth
Madhouse at the end of the earth

The harrowing true survival story of an early polar expedition that went terribly awry.

Operation Pedestal
Operation Pedestal

The British action to save its troops from starvation on Malta.

The Organ Thieves
The Organ Thieves

The shocking story of the first heart transplant in the segregated south.

12 Seconds of Silence
12 Seconds of Silence

How a team of inventors, tinkerers, and spies took down a Nazi superweapon.

Well, This Is Exhausting
Well, This Is Exhausting

Like so many women, Benoit spent her formative years struggling to do the 'right' thing only to realize that there was so…

You Can't Lose Them All
You Can't Lose Them All

Readers who think that the world of sports gambling is only filled with dirty tricks and shady characters are, well,…

She Memes Well
She Memes Well

From comedian Quinta Brunson comes a deeply personal and funny collection of essays about trying to make it when you're…

Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old
Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes,…

Yearbook
Yearbook

A collection of funny personal essays from one of the writers of Superbad and Pineapple Express and one of the producers…

Letters to My White Male Friends
Letters to My White Male Friends

Dax-Devlon Ross speaks directly to the millions of middle-aged white men who are suddenly awakening to race and racism.…

We Need New Stories
We Need New Stories

A rigorous examination of six political myths used to deflect and discredit demands for social justice. 

Better, Not Bitter
Better, Not Bitter

This inspirational memoir serves as a call to action from prison reform activist Yusef Salaam, of the Exonerated Five,…

Notes on Grief
Notes on Grief

From the globally acclaimed, best-selling novelist and author of We Should All Be Feminists, a timely and deeply personal…

 Footnotes
Footnotes

For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring twenties and the…

Somebody's Daughter
Somebody's Daughter

A childhood defined by the ever looming absence of her incarcerated father.

How the Word Is Passed
How the Word Is Passed

The legacy of slavery that is preserved in monuments and landmarks that hold violent and racist symbolism.

Dear Senthuran
Dear Senthuran

Electrifying and radically honest, animated by the same voracious intelligence that distinguishes their fiction, Dear…

The Ugly Cry
The Ugly Cry

A sharp, hilarious memoir about a nontraditional upbringing and growing up Black in a predominantly white community.

What White People Can Do Next
What White People Can Do Next

In the spirit of We Should All Be Feminists and How to Be an Antiracist, a poignant and sensible guide to questioning the…

Yoke
Yoke

Remember Jessamyn Stanley? How could you not? She's the proudly fat, Black, queer yoga teacher and charismatic author of…

 Leaving Breezy Street
Leaving Breezy Street

The account of a woman who had to make the best out of tough situations and limited options--a testimony on how the cycle…

We Recommend

More Recommendations

Your local librarians have profiles in our catalog (BiblioCommons) to share our interests, what we’re reading and to create even more recommendation lists.  Follow and like our profiles and learn more about getting social on our catalog.

Picks From Staff

Neighborhood Branch Spotlight