Databases

Databases

The Austin Public Library subscribes to a variety of online resources for your information, education and entertainment. 

Show all databases

Thousands of scholarly journal articles covering nearly all academic areas of study.

Ofrece artículos de más de 100 fuentes de noticias en español de los Estados Unidos y el mundo.

Articles from Spanish-language news sources from the United States and around the globe.

Citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library.

A trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information

Información confiable y reconocida sobre medicamentos para pacientes

Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Archival collection of historical documents about Native American history.

Library access only
Over 400,000 scientific research papers from 1983 to the present.

Explore tales of frontier life, pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws

Directory of wholesalers and distributors in the United States and Puerto Rico

Library access only
Comprehensive information for genealogical research.
You can use Ancestry Library Edition on a personal device that's connected to the Library's WiFi network.

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Short online tutorials for over 150 software applications, job searching and career skills.

Directory, marketing and job search database includes 30 million business profiles and 220 million residents.

App: iOS

Esta base de datos incluye 30 millones de perfiles empresariales y 220 millones perfiles de habitantes.

App: iOS

The ATX Library app for iOS devices enables you to search for library materials, place holds, renew checkouts and view your account information.

Newspaper articles available through several platforms

Historical newspaper articles in PDF format

Breaking business news and the Book of Lists.

Please contact Ask a Librarian if you're having technical difficulties.

The annual Book of Lists for the Austin business community.

Please contact Ask a Librarian if you're having technical difficulties.

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Articles about City of Austin and Travis County government.

Directory of awards given for achievements in virtually every field of endeavor

Citations to articles covering Native North American culture, history and life

Ciber-libros para Ciber-niños.

Index to reviews of fiction and nonfiction books

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Live online tutoring available every day from 2 PM - 11 PM

Homework help and test prep for students in grades K-12 and adult learners.

App: iOS | Android

Ayuda Gratis en Línea - Todos los Niveles - Maestros en español

Brainfuse ofrece servicios de tutoría en línea para los grados K-12: disponibles cada día, 2 PM -11 PM. También ofrece herramientas para adultos que estudian para el GED, y examen de ciudadanía entre otras cosas.

App: iOS | Android

Directory of manufacturers and distributors for public and private businesses.

Encyclopedia entries, magazine articles, images and videos for all ages

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Articles, citations and abstracts for business publications dating back to 1981

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world.

Colección de recursos para negocios y empresas

Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.

Articles from more than 8,800 business magazines and newspapers, company profiles and market research

Incluye Enciclopedia Moderna para adultos y estudiantes y Britannica Escolar Online para estudiantes de 6 a 12 años de edad

State-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices

Recommended fiction and nonfiction books, magazines and web resources for children

Auto repair and maintenance instructions and diagrams.

Curso de ciudadanía en línea para personas que hablan español.

An online American citizenship course for Spanish-speakers.

Digital graphic novels and comic books

App: iOS | Android

A series of short videos to help you gain computer skills

Articles about technical and consumer computer topics

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Consumer review articles from 1991 - present

Annual product reviews from 1999 - present

Biographies for more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Book reviews and lists for all ages.

Over 300 streaming films from world-renowned directors

More than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States.

Thousands of academic eBooks emphasizing science, technology, engineering and mathematics

Libros electrónicos de temas académicos sobre diferentes temas

Thousands of eBooks that can be read online

Search all the EBSCOhost research databases available through Austin Public Library 

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Covers areas related to educational administration

Find magazines and newspapers included in Austin Public Library databases

Index of education topics and selected articles

The Español Information Guide provides research tools for the following topics: Salud (Health) and Juventud (Youth).

Las Guías Informativas en Español ofrecen recursos en los temas de Salud y Juventud.

Index to essays in anthologies and collections

Search across multiple resources to get articles, books, videos and images for elementary and middle school student research

Search across multiple resources to get articles, books, videos and images for middle and high school student research

Search across multiple resources to get articles, books, videos and images for general research

More than 32,000 sources from over 150 countries in 28 languages.

Contiene una colección de más de 32.000 periódicos y revistas de 159 países en 28 idiomas diferentes.

Covers essential areas related to family studies

Guide to classic and contemporary fiction for adults

Information on grantmakers and grants.

Faulk Central Library access only.

Base de datos a texto completo que incluye mas dé 650 publicaciones académicas de 18 países en Español

Full text of more than 650 scholarly publications from 18 countries in Spanish 

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Easy-to-read encyclopedia articles for children

Search all the Gale research databases available through Austin Public Library

Searchable directories covering a variety of industries and organizations

Directory listings for print and broadcast media.

Search across several literature databases

Always-available eBooks covering a variety of subjects

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Articles from geoscience journals and monographs

Encyclopedias in Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Japanese and French

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

A selective annotated list of graphic novels

Articles and citations about environmental concerns

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Health information for nursing and allied health students and consumer health researchers.

Authoritative health information

Journal articles covering nursing and allied health topics 

Artículos académicos sobre enfermería y temas afines.

Genealogy research tools including Federal Censuses, and family and local histories

Detailed instructions and creative ideas for hobby enthusiasts

All the information you need for your home improvement projects

Digital movies, music, TV shows, audiobooks, eBooks and comics

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Hoopla tiene películas, música, programas de televisión, libros en audio, libros electrónicos y cómics, todo en formato digital

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Articles from all humanities fields

Index to journals, books, research reports and conference proceedings

Curso acelerado online de inglés en 100 sesiones intensivas.

Program for Spanish speakers to learn English in 100 intensive sessions.

Library access only.

Information about stocks, funds and markets with daily data tables and investment tools.

Create resumes and cover letters, explore career options and search for jobs

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Find jobs in Austin, other Texas cities and other states

Academic journal articles in the social sciences, humanities and sciences

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Academic, civil service, GED, ASVAB, U.S. citizenship, professional and certification practice tests and skill building for all ages.

Esta herramienta le ofrece muchos exámenes de práctica en áreas como: Servicio Civil, GED, materias universitarias, del ejército y para certificaciones profesionales. También ofrece ejercicios de práctica para el examen de ciudadanía y otros temas que le puedan interesar.

Scholarly law journals covering current issues and trends of the legal world 

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Legal eBooks and forms for consumer, family and business law

Index of articles covering librarianship and information management.

Articles and essays about thousands of authors and their works

More than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors.

Author biographies and critical analysis of literary works

Magazine articles, primary sources, biographies, images and eBooks for high school students.

Magazine articles, reference books, primary source documents, photos and maps

Base de datos a texto completo que incluye 130 revistas avaladas por profesionales en el área de medicina en Español.

Articles from peer-reviewed medical journals in Spanish.

Citations to journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine

Citas a revistas académicas especializadas en medicina, enfermería, odontología y medicina veterinaria.

Recommended fiction and nonfiction books, magazines and websites for middle and junior high school libraries.

Magazine articles, biographies, images, primary sources and reference eBooks for middle school students.

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government 

Independent reports on 30,000 mutual funds, stocks and ETFs for the individual investor.

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Music Online: American Music will be discontinued on Monday, July 31, 2017.

Stream over 130,000 songs from all eras and genres of American music.

n+1

A magazine of literature, culture and politics

A comprehensive nonprofit directory

Thousands of mailing addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers and e-mail addresses for U.S. organizations.

Complementary and alternative medicine information for the consumer-health researcher

Search and view articles from over 2,000 newspapers, including the Austin American-Statesman and the Austin Monitor.

US and international newspaper articles with radio and TV news transcripts

Recommended audiobooks, sound recordings, video recordings, websites, games and other electronic resources for children and adults

A listing of burials in Austin's oldest cemetery

eBooks and Audiobooks

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire | Libby

Descargue libros en su tableta, lector de libros electrónicos, teléfonos inteligentes o computadora

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Search the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words

Language dictionaries and subject reference eBooks

Over 600 streaming documentaries

Over 200 downloadable language learning audiobooks

Index to plays and monologues published separately and in collections

Magazines articles, encyclopedias and graphics for elementary school students.

An online course to prepare New Americans for the USCIS Naturalization Test

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Un curso en línea que le ayudará a prepararse en las áreas de educación cívica, lectura y escritura que son parte del examen de Naturalización de la USCIS

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Articles from education and library science journals

Learn 80 languages with interactive multimedia. 50 ESL options available.

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Ofrece cursos para aprender 80 idiomas diferentes y 50 opciones para aprender inglés como segundo idioma

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Journal articles about psychology, psychiatry and anthropology

Guide to nonfiction books for adults

Comprehensive coverage of U.S. and Canadian publishing operations.

Covers ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies and other areas

OneClickdigital is now RBdigital eBooks and Audio.

Audiobooks and eBooks to stream or download to any device.

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Oneclickdigital En Español ahora se llama RBdigital En Español.

Ofrece libros en audio y libros electrónicos ya sea para descargar en un dispositivo móvil o para la transmisión en tiempo real.

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Zinio Magazines is now RBdigital Magazines.

Download over 200 full-color magazines to any device

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire HD/HDX

Zinio Revistas ahora se llama "RBdigital Revistas [Magazines]"

Ofrece acceso a más de 200 revistas que puede ver en línea o descargar a un dispositivo móvil.

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire HD/HDX

Index to general-interest periodicals published in the US from 1890 - 1982

The Austin Public Library does not subscribe to ReferenceUSA. Please use AtoZdatabases instead.

Articles from regional business publications

Journal articles about theology and philosophical studies

Search Austin Public Library's catalog and selected databases with one search

Búsquedas a través de múltiples bases de datos y el catálogo de la biblioteca.

Investigación comprensiva en Español sobre condiciones, procedimientos, tratamientos y noticias de salud.

Schematics and wiring diagrams for TVs, DVD players, LCD & HDTV, radios and VCRs

Journal articles in all science and technology fields

Authoritative information covering all major science topics

Articles from science and technology journals

Recommended fiction and nonfiction books for teens in grades 9 through 12

Bibliographic information and current prices for U.S. and international serial titles

Index to short stories published in anthologies, collections and periodicals

A comprehensive resource for small business and entrepreneurial research

The definitive online tool for small engine repair assistance

Library access only
Up-to-date information about Texas business organizations from the Texas Secretary of State

Search two Spanish-language encyclopedias: one for ages 6-12 and one for high school to adult

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Indexing and abstracts for teacher and administrator journals and magazines

Multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books

Teen Health & Wellness will be discontinued on Monday, July 31, 2017.

Health information for teens

App: iOS | Android | Kindle Fire

Detailed property and land-use records of Texas towns and cities from 1867 to 1970

Driver's permit, motorcycle and CDL practice tests

Exámenes de práctica para la licencia de conducir automóviles, motocicletas y licencia de conducir para vehículos comerciales.

Legal forms specific to Texas include official, state-specific litigation, business, personal, real estate and general forms

Articles and books about Texas and Texans

Provides investment firm profiles and financing information

Current events database spotlights social, political and economic issues

Lists over 8,900 trade shows held in the United States and around the globe

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Animated, talking picture books for kids.

App: iOS | Android

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Coverage of 1,700 stocks in The Value Line Investment Survey Plus and 1,800 in the The Small and Mid-Cap edition.

In the Library: Use the Chrome Browser to print. Internet Explorer has printing problems.

Articles from trade and industry-related periodicals

All the items cataloged by member libraries worldwide

Provides resources curated by expert librarians.

Virtual Library

Virtual Library Home

Databases by Title or Subject

Ask a Librarian